Kim Tang

Personal Blog

WEEK 8: Activity – ePortfolio

For this week’s activity, I will introduce you to “Kim’s little world” that I’ve created a while ago.

When I was in high school, I had a life… and was able to maintain my own website/ blog.

http://duoibongcay.wordpress.com

My website was mainly for me to collect and share my experiences of computer technology, studying, polymer clay, and random things. My website was written in Vietnamese with the purpose of sharing the knowledge to my family and friends (not the world). Thus, my writings are short and to the point. The design of the website was for me, because I wanted to feel like “home” whenever I visit my website.

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 4.27.08 PM

I love to learn new things and hunt for information. At the time, my perception of the internet was it is the gate to knowledge (and it still is). I learned so much of computer skills and I wanted to share them with the people around me. Not just that, but I want to “collect” those knowledge and keep them in one place. So then if I forget how to do something, I can just refer back to my website. I also liked to collect books, especially from my favorite authors. However, living in the United States doesn’t allow me to do so. Thus, I have to look for e-books on Vietnamese forums. These e-books are hand typed by people who have the physical book and would like to share with everyone in the community. I know this is illegal, but that is the only way for me to have access to the Vietnamese literature and continue my love for books.

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 4.27.39 PM

As I look for more books to read, I found the process of “hunting” for the epub files was fascinating. It slowly became a hobby of mine. Having a website of my own allows me to organize and share my knowledge and e-book collection with anyone who needs them.

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 4.26.16 PM

Since I moved to college, my site became less active and… almost dead. However, thanks to this week’s activity I get to visit my website again! There are so many more things I would like to put on to this website, such as pictures of my freshman year in college and new knowledge! I should open a new tab for blogging. That sounds fun! Who knows… one day I will look back and laugh (or cry) at my memories. Haha.

Besides this website, I also created website where I would write down all the things I am thankful for. (I was inspired by a movie. Hehe. J)

http://toibietoncuocsong.wordpress.com/

The name of the website is Tôi Biết Ơn Cuộc Sống, which means, “I am thankful of life”. This website really helped me through the hard times in high school. It is for me to look back at the things I have in my life and to be happy with what life gave me.

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 4.49.58 PM

Hello, Thank you for stopping by. Why not leave a comment? :)

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2014 by in ART 110 and tagged , , , .
