Kim Tang

Personal Blog

Week 2: Activity “Instagram”

Instagram is a quick and easy ways to mark the moment with pictures and videos. I have never used Instagram; therefore, I’m not familiar with the cultures/do and don’t of this social network. The only social network I use is Facebook. Facebook allows me to connect with my family in Vietnam easily. While Instagram also have that ability, it is mostly accessible for users with smartphones. This makes it inconvenient for people who cannot afford these luxurious gadgets, such as my cousins in Vietnam. In a sense I realized that social networks can indirectly separate social classes.

I have heard of Instagram by many of my friends and family members in the United States. In fact, my brother is currently an Instagram user. For this assignment, I had to create an Instagram account for myself. This is an opportunity for me to test out this famous social network. 

Instagram_Icon_Large-300x300

 

I am a Pre-Nursing student, I usually don’t have (should not have) anything to do but eat, sleep, and study. This probably why most of my posts are school related. By just looking at my posts, one can see that I have no life. 

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 1.42.25 PM

Textbooks, laptop, lunch/ dinnner, and brain. Get ready! GO!

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 1.44.59 PM

Let the brain rest. Lunch time! #art110f14

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 1.46.30 PM

Food for a healthy brain. Simple and yummy. (Lunch) #art110f14

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 1.47.53 PM

Back home @ 10:10 PM. What a productive day. #art110f14

One day when I look back at these pictures, they will show my work ethic as well as what it takes to be where I am.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 1.48.17 PM

Good night. #art110f14

Instagram is a simple application that allows users to document their life in a few simple touches. I found this application to be quite user friendly and does not take much time to post, which is what we need in our busy life. The hashtag system is quite unique to this application because it allows people with similar activities and interests to connect and follow each others. For example, our class’s hashtag was “#art110f14”. When clicking this hashtag, I can see pictures of all my classmates and the moments in their lives. This allows me to see and understand more about each and every one of them, which is a feature that only Instagram has (at least to me). 

When scrolling through the pictures that were tagged with #art110f14, I found myself in some of them. When I “used to” have a life, I watched anime and played MMOPGR in my free time. Not anymore (sigh). I no longer have that “free” life, when I don’t have to worry about meeting deadlines, GPA, getting into nursing school, money, and my career. This is probably why we need to write diary, take pictures, and document our life. To mark the moments in our lives. 

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 2.31.56 PM

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 2.33.42 PM

Besides that, I found that not many people took selfies of themselves. I thought selfies was still a big thing on social network. I guess not for this hashtag since it’s a school assignment?. 

Browsing through the pictures, I also found that I am not alone. Besides school, people also have work, family, friends, and random moments of their silly selves. This is no longer a collection of pictures from random classmates, but instead are stories of their lives that one cannot understand by just looking at them. They unfold the hidden personalities and the beautiful side of the people in them.

This is amazing.

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 2.39.04 PM

Hello, Thank you for stopping by. Why not leave a comment? :)

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2014 by in ART 110 and tagged , , .
